FLAC Music. Jazz Flac. Hi-Res. FLAC download ยป Houston Person – The Art And Soul Of Houston Person (2009 FLAC)

Houston Person – The Art And Soul Of Houston Person (2009 FLAC)

Houston Person - The Art And Soul Of Houston Person (2009 FLAC)

Houston Person – The Art And Soul Of Houston Person (2009 FLAC)

Artist: Houston Person
Album: The Art And Soul Of Houston Person
Release/Reissue: 2009
Genre: Jazz

CD 01
01. You Do Something to Me
02. I Don’t Stand a Ghost of a Chance
03. You’re a Sweetheart
04. Maybe You’ll Be There
05. All the Things You Are
06. You’re My Everything
07. Skylark
08. I Only Have Eyes for You
09. Everything I Have Is Yours
10. Wonder Why

CD 02
01. Do Nothing Till You Hear from Me
02. Here’s That Rainy Day
03. Isn’t It Romantic
04. Fools Rush In
05. It Had to Be You
06. But Beautiful
07. For All We Know
08. Blue Moon
09. Bewitched
10. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore

CD 03
01. Sentimental Journey
02. Where Are You?
03. There’s a Small Hotel
04. Tenderly
05. Be My Love
06. It Might as Well Be Spring
07. My Funny Valentine
08. Gentle Rain
09. Mack the Knife
10. The Very Thought of You

The Art & Soul of Houston Person is a unique compilation. The great saxophonist has recorded as a leader for labels such as Prestige, 20th Century, Muse, Savant, and is currently with High Note, where this appears. His tenure at Prestige is the only one longer than this one. As such, this massive, three-disc collection is drawn from a dozen High Note albums cut in as many years. The unifying factor in these cuts is that they were not chosen randomly to include simply stellar performances, but from his wide-ranging interpretations on standards; in addition, they were all recorded by Rudy Van Gelder at his studios in Englewood Cliffs, NJ. There are 30 performances in all, including four that open disc one which are all new takes on tunes he’d tracked previously, but this time out with his current quartet of pianist John di Martino, bassist Jon Burr, and drummer Jerome Jennings. Some of the other players on this comp include pianists Bill Charlap, Stan Hope, and Richard Wyands, bassists Ray Drummond, Ron Carter, Per-Ola Gadd, Peter Washington, and George Kaye, drummers Grady Tate, Chip White, and Kenny Washington, and guitarists Russell Malone and Paul Bollenback. The readings of these tunes make for a very unified collection because no matter who the personnel are and what gifts they bring to the table, Person has a way of playing songs that not only retain their melody, but their melodic integrity; his is simply not interested in employing them as frameworks for showboat improvisation. His own inventiveness is in how warm and dignified a melodist he is. He sings through the horn with the emotional commitment of Ben Webster, the soul of Gene Ammons, and the studied elegance of Paul Quinichette and Frank Wess. Listeners will have a great time picking their favorites out of this morass of excellent material, but it is safe to say that Person makes virtually all of it compelling — there isn’t a dull second here. Whether it’s “Sentimental Journey,”and “All The Things You Are,” or “Blue Moon” and “Mack the Knife,” these sides are drenched in classy sophistication and down-home soul. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply