FLAC Music. Jazz Flac. Hi-Res. FLAC download ยป Cory Weeds – What Is There To Say? (2021 FLAC)

Cory Weeds – What Is There To Say? (2021 FLAC)

Cory Weeds - What Is There To Say? (2021 FLAC)

Cory Weeds – What Is There To Say? (2021 FLAC)

Artist: Cory Weeds
Album: What Is There To Say?
Release/Reissue: 2021
Genre: Jazz

01. At Dawning
02. The Phantom In The In Crowd
03. What Is There To Say
04. Love Is Wild
05. Waltz For Someone Special
06. Alana Marie
07. I Wish You Love
08. There’s A Boat Leavin’ Soon For New York

What a perfect time for Cory to give us this album, What is There To Say?, his 18th record as a leader. It’s his most ambitious project to date and, in my opinion, his most impressive. Ever since Charlie Parker recorded his iconic Bird with Strings album, the saxophone-with-strings format has become a sort of Mount Everest for those saxophonists brave enough to take on the challenge. Cory has been climbing to increasingly greater heights for years now and he is clearly ready for this ”Everestine” expedition. Listening to him interpret this carefully curated set of compositions, we really get to know him for the musician he has become: an expressive saxophonist with a unique and personal voice on his instrument. A visceral strength to his delivery on the tenor, while at times exposing a beautifully honest vulnerability as well.

Cory, as he is known to do, has surrounded himself with only the best company. Phil Dwyer’s crafty lush string arrangements inspire Cory to search for new and ever more lyrical melodic lines while also giving him ample space to get lost exploring the nooks and crevasses of the music. Cory has compiled some real musical gems here including the somewhat obscure chestnut 1906 Ballad At Dawning (I Love You) while also contributing an eclectic trio of original compositions to round out an extremely enjoyable musical program.

Leave a Reply