FLAC Music. Jazz Flac. Hi-Res. FLAC download ยป Conrad Herwig – Osteology (2009 FLAC)

Conrad Herwig – Osteology (2009 FLAC)

Conrad Herwig - Osteology (2009 FLAC)

Conrad Herwig – Osteology (2009 FLAC)

Artist: Conrad Herwig
Album: Osteology
Release/Reissue: 2009
Genre: Jazz

01. Syeeda’s Song Flute
02. Kenny K.
03. Devil May Care
04. First Born
05. Fire
06. It Ain’t Necessarily So
07. You Don’t Know What Love Is
08. Osteology

Conrad Herwig’s second Criss Cross release is a trombonist’s dream as Herwig joins forces with another trombonist, former Jazz Messenger Steve Davis, and a first-rate rhythm section of pianist David Kikoski, bassist James Genus, and drummer Jeff “Tain” Watts to perform three Herwig originals, two jazz classics, and two standards. Both Herwig and Davis are skilled improvisers with distinctive voices on their chosen instruments, choosing to complement each other rather than compete. Herwig plays mostly in the bone’s upper register,Davis prefers the middle and lower registers, while Kikoski, Genus, and Watts supply enough fire to keep the proceedings heated. Favorites include the hard swinging “Syeeda’s Song Flute,” written by John Coltrane, “Kenny K,” Herwig’s heartfelt tribute to pianist Kenny Kirkland, the medium blues “First Born,” and the burning title track. Osteology refers to the study of the science of bones, and this is one time where studying bones can be enjoyable.

Leave a Reply