FLAC Music. Jazz Flac. Hi-Res. FLAC download ยป Benny Green – Green’s Blues (2001 FLAC)

Benny Green – Green’s Blues (2001 FLAC)

Benny Green - Green's Blues (2001 FLAC)

Benny Green – Green’s Blues (2001 FLAC)

Artist: Benny Green
Album: Green’s Blues
Release/Reissue: 2001
Genre: Jazz

01. I’ve Heard That Song Before
02. I Wish You Love
03. Someone To Watch Over Me
04. You Make Me Feel So Young
05. Just You, Just Me
06. Green’s Blues
07. Green Eyes
08. Misty
09. Nice Work If You Can Get It
10. Ain’t Misbehavin’
11. It Don’t Mean a Thing
12. I Got It Bad

Green’s first-ever fully unaccompanied outing is a knockout — not a conceptual revolution by any means, but a stylistic triumph and an all-around good time. Like Marcus Roberts, Green is a latter-day master of stride piano, and right off the bat he wows listeners with his skills on “I’ve Heard That Song Before” and “I Wish You Love” before quieting down with “Someone to Watch Over Me.” Green’s playing spills over with adventurous, perfectly resolved phrases, crystalline melodies, and controlled dissonance, not to mention a tremendous amount of human spirit. Sticking to standard repertoire (with the exception of the original title track), Green also rummages through other old songs like “Just You, Just Me,” “Misty,” and “Ain’t Misbehavin’,” effortlessly creating beauty as he goes. He closes with two Ellington classics, “It Don’t Mean a Thing” and “I Got It Bad”; the former is interpolated with Gershwin’s “It Ain’t Necessarily So” and tagged with a variation on Charlie Parker’s “Now’s the Time.”

Leave a Reply